Local 101: April 29-May 1! Calgary Dollars Accepted!


A festival of food films, presentations and conversation

‘Local 101: Ingredients for a Sustainable Culture’ begins Friday night and runs all-day Saturday, including keynote speeches from Thomas Pawlick and Hugo Bonjean, several award winning films, a green city tour and two panel discussions. This two day event is an exploration of getting good, clean and fair food ‘from the farm gate to the plate’.

‘Local 201: Alberta Small Farms Summit’ will be held at the University of Calgary. The purpose of this working session is to initiate a formal support group for farmers and to create a forum to share knowledge, experience and wisdom. “Don’t farm alone!”

***Download complete schedule for the weekend here:

**Tickets for this event are available on-line here:

Weekend passes are $80; $70 for Slow Food members; $40 for students (ID must be presented) and low-income. Tickets available at www.slowfoodcalgary.ca and Sunnyside Natural
Market (cash only) 338, 10th St. N.W. 25% Calgary Dollars accepted.

Friday ticket: $20.00 for Slow Food members/non-members; $10.00 for students and low-income

Saturday ticket: $50.00 for Slow Food members; $60.00 for non-members; $30.00 for students and low-income.

Tickets are also available at the door for Friday evening ($25), Saturday afternoon ($45) and Saturday evening ($25).

As part of Local 101, join Arusha on Saturday, April 30th for a 9:00am Community Walk- Interested participants meeting at Higher Ground on Kensington Rd., walking through Sunnyside and checking out alternative energy systems, community garden, pesticide free park, other interesting sites, continuing on through downtown and looking at “green” architectural elements in some downtown commercial buildings, ending at the Uptown with time to stop for lunch before things get rolling for the afternoon. (no charge)

Then, on Sunday, May 1, 10:00am, Arusha is sponsoring a Sustainable Energy Presentation at the University of Calgary, ICT room 114. (no charge)

This post was written by
Comments are closed.